Advice, lifestyle

How I cope when I am feeling stressed out :)

Whether you’ve left everything down to the last minute, your workload has been piled so high you can’t see over it, or maybe you’re just stressed out in general, sometimes it can all get a bit too much. Believe me, this year has been one stressful year so far and I haven’t even sat my exams yet! Having too much stress on your shoulders can lead to negative problems, such as tiredness due to no sleep, or even more serious issues such as damage towards your mental health.

I hope this blog is helpful, this is just my way of dealing with stress, so it might not be the best thing for everyone but this is just how I cope with it.

1.Talk to people

 

IMG_20170424_190122

I know it sounds so, so simple but when I get stressed sometimes it just helps talking to people, whether it’s your friends, your parents, or even your pets, I mean pets are pretty calming when you feel the world is on your shoulders! Sometimes it doesn’t work and it feels better to be alone but more often than not it helps to share to your nearest and dearest. Besides, they are the ones who know you the best, so they will most likely be able to make you feel a bit better.

2. Plug those headphones in!

IMG_20170424_182819

This works so well for me, it’s like a magic trick! Music somehow just manages to shift your mood into rays of sunshine. Make a happy playlist, mine often consist of house music and tunes I can imagine dancing to on a night out. Even making a sad songs playlist makes me want to be in a better mood after a while, it’s almost like my mind starts wanting my happy songs back!

3. Get some fresh air

IMG_20170419_202047

This doesn’t have to be a three hour walk if you don’t want it to be, although taking a walk or a run has been proven to be a good way to calm your stress levels. Just taking my Netflix outside in the fresh air seems to make me feel more awake, realise that things aren’t so bad and that there is always something good to look forwards to and think about, it’s sometimes just masked by stress.

That’s my deep thought for the day :).

4. Think of the positives in your life

IMG_20170424_183804

When I was feeling down when I was younger, I wrote a list about all the things that were positive in my life, and, whenever I felt like I was struggling, I would dig it out and read through it and, normally, it would put me in a better mood. Now, this may not work for everyone, but I often struggle with feeling insecure about myself, which causes me to doubt myself and therefore feel worse, thinking only about the negatives and not the positives. Having an actual list of positives in my life helps me to remember what I have to smile about so it works for me!

5. Do something that makes you feel happy

IMG_20170424_184314

Doing something positive that isn’t self destructing to your health and wellbeing is something I often do when I’m feeling stressed out or when I’m up against deadlines. It doesn’t have to be something big and elaborate like decluttering your space to make you feel ‘positive’. Netflix and Ben and Jerry’s ice cream in bed in your onesie? Do it. Pamper bath with ten bath bombs, a stack of magazines and chocolate? Go for it! Do whatever it is that makes you happy, although I only use this trick sparingly, as I don’t want myself getting into a destructive cycle. A bit of indulgence is good to help you destress once in a while but there’s a fine line in-between doing something that generally makes you feel better and something that just dulls out any feelings of stress.

And there you have it! These are just a few things that I do to help to get my mind in a positive place, although if I have missed some please let me know in the comments!

Laura x

6 thoughts on “How I cope when I am feeling stressed out :)”

  1. Hi! Thank you for this post, I’m really enjoying your site!
    These are a few of my favorite things in life, it’s easy to get caught up in things and forget the joy and power of these simple things. Thanks for the reminder! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

